My Amazing Christmas Gift Makes Me Feel Really Stupid. And Old.

THIS POST WAS ORINGINALLY POSTED ON DECEMBER 26TH, 2013.
old_pc

As I continue to just get older, the number one thing that makes me feel old is my free fall into stupidity regarding technology. I am currently writing this blog on my new Microsoft Surface Pro 2,  basically a tablet that can have a keyboard attach to it, my wonderful (and technologically advanced) bf’s Christmas gift to me…

When I opened the gift, my first reaction, surprisingly to some…wasn’t joy or excitement. It was fear. A lot of fear. I can’t believe I’m at this point of my life already. Already terrified of the future and it’s advancements in computers and technology. It was like when I went from my archaic Blackberry cellular phone to my very first iPhone about a year ago, I felt the same terror that I did yesterday when I got this tablet. It’s not that I’m stupid. (I just literally spelled stupid wrong and had to correct it and laughed, so ironic.) I’m not stupid, but I think I have a fear of looking stupid. So, I didn’t really even look at my new tablet Christmas gift yesterday. As soon as I couldn’t remember my Hotmail password to log into the system, I was already beyond frustrated…I just told my bf there was a lot going on and I didn’t have time to spend with it yesterday…or this morning…or this afternoon…but, this evening, I ran out of excuses and was pretty bored, so I asked him to show me how it worked. (I think I also have a fear of people teaching me things, because I haven’t had the most patient of teachers in the past….also why I do not drive standard shift automobiles….sorry Dad…love you….) But, my bf is very patient and just gave me a smirk when he asked me what were the three operating systems for tablets and phones and some of my answers were, “iPhone, iPod, Samsung, T-Mobile…” Thank God he loves me.

Like many experiences in life, I am humbled and have realized that I mustn’t make fun of my parents who have a tough time with things that are simple to me, like texting or Instagramming. They are simply just behind the technology curve like I am.

What am I going to be like in 10 years?? Am I going to still be using the word “dork” and being made fun of because I like Lady Gaga’s music and the kids will think of her as I think of  say, Donna Summer or Crystal Gayle??

Getting older. It’s stressful in so many ways. Today’s way, technology. But, here I am, writing my very first blog on my new tablet. The keyboard is super thin and I’m messing up more than I normally do, but I’m going to stick with it and keep trying and not get frustrated. I am going to keep up with technology and when the next thing comes out to replace the Blu-Ray, I won’t call it “The DVD player”….you know what I mean? I think my Mum might still call their DVD player a “VCR”…

Speaking of advancements in technology, I am currently watching “Pretty Woman” on Lifetime and Richard Gere (aka Edward Lewis) has the World’s BIGGEST cell phone. It’s almost the size of a VCR.

“You work on commission right? Big mistake. Big. Huge.”

Heart you, all you smarties (and dummies) of technology…

– Chick A

P.S. Found this while looking for my post picture and laughed out loud. I didn’t LOL, I laughed out loud. I don’t LOL. 

old-computer-games-are-just-like-life-25295

3 responses to “My Amazing Christmas Gift Makes Me Feel Really Stupid. And Old.

  1. Reblogged this on Too Funny Chicks and commented:

    CHRISTMAS DAY IS THE FIRST ANNIVERSARY FOR ME AND MY SURFACE PRO. WANTED TO SHARE THIS POST AGAIN IN CASE YOU GET SOME NEW KIND OF TECHNOLOGY FOR CHRISTMAS AND FEEL REALLY STUPID BECAUSE YOU DON’T UNDERSTAND IT, LIKE I DID. 🙂

    Like

Let Us Know What You Think...

