Oh, Now We Think We’re a Food Blog….What??

celery-is-useless

Someday maybe I’ll own a restaurant. I’m not a good enough cook to be the main chef, nor would I want to be, but I’m good enough to tell that chef to maybe try this recipe I made up. So, for the first time ever in Too Funny Chicks history (of 4.5 months), here is the first ever recipe that we are submitting for your consideration. Like, consider making it. At least consider it! You can take 1 minute to consider it, can’t you??

Okay, thanks.

I made up this recipe for a few reasons; namely:

1. I love Chicken Soup.

2. I hate Celery.

3. I wanted a soup that fit the Paleo Diet requirements. (Have I told you I follow the Paleo Diet? No? I’ll write about that another day…)

And now….. (Insert Trumpeting Fanfare Here…)

Presenting…..Chick A’s….

“Don’t You Dare Add Celery To This Chicken Soup, Chicken Soup”

What You Will Need To Buy/What You Will Need to Dig Out of the Back of Your Cupboards:

(And yes, I AM one of those “Organic” people….sue me….)

  • 2 Organic, Free-Range bone-in chicken breasts, I think they’re called split breasts. (Not sure why…) I also buy a package of 4 or 5 drumsticks, but you could buy whatever you want, just as long as it’s on the bone. Gives so much more flavor.
  •  1 large or 2 regular sized bags of Organic carrots, not baby, adult carrots only please. Wash carrots and cut off ends. Do not peel. Extra goodness in the peel. Plus peeling this many carrots would be super annoying. Cut into 1 inch pieces. Set aside. In a blue bowl. This is very important. (This is A LOT of carrots I know….but trust me…)
  •  1 large onion, diced. Vidalia, yellow, whatever. Just probably not red…I think that would be weird.
  •  Garlic. I use this Crushed Garlic from Trader Joe’s, it’s like a paste. Probably about 2 Tablespoons of it, but that might scare the crap out of you (I just typed “scared the carp out of you” and I think that’s way funnier. I might start saying that…you should too.) But you can just use fresh or jarred, minced. Stop making that face that I said I use jarred garlic.
  •  2 x 32 oz. containers of Organic, Free Range, Low Sodium Chicken Broth
  •  Parsley. I use dried from a jar, but if I was really trying to wow someone, like if for some reason I got called up to make chicken soup for the President, I’d use fresh.
  •  2 Bay Leaves (My Bay Leaf Spice Jar has one of those tops with all the holes in it, every time I use it, I think, “Why?”)
  •  S&P- This is a constant battle with soup. Just keep testing it and adding more if needed. Salt that baby up. Yum, salt!
  •  Garlic Powder

Generously sprinkle chicken with S&P and place into a very hot soup pot, skin side down,  a dutch over is perfect for this….(if you don’t have a Le Creuset Dutch Oven, really think about it, it’s one of the best culinary things to happen to me…that and bagged salad.) Let this sear for a good 5 minutes with the cover on. Flip over and sear for 5 more minutes. Remove the chicken from the pot and set aside on a separate white plate.

 Throw in all the carrots and onion and garlic. Let the carrots get a little bit of color, really brings out the flavor. Don’t let the garlic burn though. Stir the carrots around a bunch. Give them at least 5-7 minutes in the tub by themselves.

 Lay your somewhat cooked chicken back on top of the carrots. Cover all that business with the chicken broth and then I like to add some water to make it about ½ inch from the top of the pot.

 Let this boil. I’m not sure why, but that’s what my Mum’s chicken soup recipe said, so I do this too. Then put to low.

 Now, go do something for yourself for the next 45 minutes. Then, turn off the heat and let it cool. I usually put it out on my deck to have it cool faster. Because guess what, you have to pick through all those chicken bones and scalding your fingers isn’t fun.

 When it’s cool, get a large clear bowl and a white colander. Put the colander in the large bowl and dump out everything into it. You want the broth in the bowl and the stuff in the colander, that’s how a colander works….

 Rest the drained chicken and veg colander inside the soup pot. Then, take the broth bowl and pour that over the stuff in the colander (how many times can I say colander in this recipe?) Now, put the colander of stuff back in the bowl…and get a garbage bowl or something for all the bones you’re about to have. Now,  go through all the chicken and pick it apart into kinda bite sized pieces. And throw that and the carrots and onion back into the soup pot.

 Remember to go on a scavenger hunt for those 2 Bay Leaves. No one wants that surprise.

 Now you have a soup pot full of goodness. For luck, I put this back on the stove and bring it to a boil one more time. Don’t ask me why. I just do. Then, voila. You’ve got awesome soup.

 This is a long recipe, but it’s really easy, I swear. If it wasn’t, I wouldn’t make it once a week. I know it’s only carrots for a vegetable, but that’s how I like it.

If you want to totally mess it up with some celery or whatever, go for it….just don’t tell me.

Thank you for your consideration and if you know what “split breasts” means or why the bay leaf jar has little holes in the cap like it’s trying to be garlic powder, let me know.

Heart you, hope you’ll heart my soup,

-Chick A

carrot-violence-awareness

P.S. Check out one of the funniest cartoon comediennes online at: www.nataliedee.com She’s been making me pee my pants for years…

3 responses to “Oh, Now We Think We’re a Food Blog….What??

  1. Because it is one chicken breast split into two down the center so a smaller portion…yummy recipe…not sure about the bay leaf thing good point!

    Like

Let Us Know What You Think...

