That Doesn’t Go There

You ask, we write.  One of my favorite people in the world asked that we write about “Why women choose to move everything a man puts down”.  I had to laugh when I read this.  It’s almost too easy.  Men, do you want to know why women move everything you put down?  Because you always put everything down in the wrong place.  Duh.

I would argue that most women have a very specific way of keeping their house.  Obviously not all women.  I’ve seen enough episodes of Hoarders to know what’s really going on out there.  I love that show.  There is nothing like a Hoarders marathon to make me feel like the most amazing person in the world.

Anyway, in keeping our houses neat and tidy, we have a place for everything, and no matter how long our counterparts live in these houses with us, they will NEVER learn where things go.  I swear, I think men have a very specific learning disability and the only thing it affects is their ability to learn this very basic concept.

Let me help you guys out:

  • dirty laundry goes in the hamper (say it with me now…)
  • empty cartons of ice cream or bags of chips go in the trash (imagine that)
  • old magazines go in the recycling bin (I know, I know, it’s very tricky!)

I’m not just talking about cleaning up, because let’s be honest, that’s a battle most women aren’t going to fight anymore.  I would guess most woman would say that at least once a week we hear “Hey Babe, do you know where the xxxxx is?”.  Fill in the blanks.  It could be anything.  Because women know how to put things away, we by default know where everything is.  If I don’t know where something is in my house, it is gone.  I guarantee.

So that, my friend, is why women move everything you put down.  We don’t “choose” to.  We have to.  For our sanity.  And yours.

Love you G.

-Chick E

confused-baby

4 responses to “That Doesn’t Go There

  1. This isn’t gender specific, in our house I’m the one who puts stuff away and puts items in places that make the most sense. In fact I often joke that I married a less messy version of Oscar Madison…

    Like

  2. Men are terrible with this. I have everything in the kitchen in certain spots and hubs is always moving stuff to the wrong spot or has no idea where things are. I’m like…you’ve lived in this same house with the same set up for as long as I have and you haven’t figured this out yet?? When is that going to happen??? They have what I call, “Boy eyes”. When he can’t find something, I say…did you have your boy eyes on? And of course, he did.

    Like

Let Us Know What You Think...

