Why Do Baseball Games Last So Long?

Ahhh, Baseball…an American pastime.  Peanuts, hot dogs, beers, sports, what could be better?  There’s even a very well known song about it, “Take me out to the ballgame, take me out with the crowd”.  (You’re singing it now, aren’t you?)

I really, really, REALLY, want to like baseball.  And on some levels, I do.  At least I used to.  I used to watch baseball quite frequently in my younger years.  I guess in getting older and especially since having kids, it just seems like I don’t have time to watch baseball games, because let’s be honest, they.last.f.o.r.e.v.e.r.

I’ve done some quick research on the interwebs and here’s what I’ve found out.  The average length of an MLB game is consistently on the rise, according to this guy here.  In 1950, the average was 2:23.  In 2014 it is 3:09.  Three hours???  That’s a long time!  I could watch two rom-coms in three hours.  And will, because rom-coms are way more entertaining.  And three hours is just the average so that means some games are going longer, some much much longer.

Look at how interested these people are...

Look at how interested these people are…

Fun fact according to Wikipedia: The Pawtucket Red Sox and Rochester Red Wings, two teams from the Triple-A International League, played the longest game in professional baseball history. It lasted for 33 innings, with eight hours and 25 minutes of playing time. 32 innings were played April 18/19, 1981 at McCoy Stadium in Pawtucket, Rhode Island and the final 33rd inning was played June 23, 1981. Pawtucket won the game, 3–2.

Wow.  I would like to meet one person who stayed for this entire game.  Just one.  I bet even some players took off.

baseball is boring

This might totally be what’s going on…maybe I just don’t get it

I live in “Red Sox Nation” so baseball is sort of a big deal up here.  And I did, for the record, watch the Sox win their first world series since 1918 in 2004.  And yes, I admit, that was fun and exciting.  Baseball live is fun.  Probably because there’s beer involved.  But to sit and watch a game at home…I just can’t do it anymore.

I watched some baseball with Mr. Chick E a few weeks ago.  Probably a solid half hour.  I literally paid zero attention.  Thirty or more minutes in, I finally paid enough attention to see the score.  I was just sort of staring through the TV I think, not even focusing.  It sort of felt good.  It was trance-inducing.  Maybe I should watch more baseball.  I bet I’d sleep better at night.

Yikes.  Baseball's not boring for this guy.

Yikes. Baseball’s not boring for this guy.

I’m going to try to renew my like of baseball.  I won’t say love.  I’m quite sure I never loved you baseball.  I’m sorry.  It’s me, not you.  I’ll let y’all know how that goes.

It is, however, almost football season.  And that’s one sport that is not boring.  So….I’m not a total loss.

-Chick E

Right??

I mean, right?  RIGHT??

Let Us Know What You Think...

