Chick A’s Book Review: Outlander, As Read by Chick E

As some of you may or may not know, I am not a “reader”. I love the thought of reading. I really like to purchase books, but unfortunately, I have the attention span of a baby flea. So, when I read, I’m thinking about other things like laundry and thank you cards I need to write and “I wonder if Joey and Pacey are still together…”, so this turns into me having to read the whole page again because I really wasn’t comprehending what was going on. Thus, it takes me a year and a half to read a book. HOWEVER, the say, 8 times in my life that I have read a book, I LOVED IT! The characters, the stories, I get so invested. I cried like a baby at the conclusion to “Eat, Pray, Love.” True story. Then, I went THAT night to see the movie and it was the first time I had ever experienced what I had always heard people talking about…“The Movie was NOT as good as the book!”

Don’t get me wrong. I liked the movie. I mean, to me, Julia Roberts can do no wrong, but the book….was better… :/

The other day, Chick E came to see me in my office and she wanted to tell me all about this book she was reading, “Outlander” by Diana Gabaldon. Knowing me as well as she does, she started telling me like this, “Listen, I want to tell you about this book I’m reading. I know you don’t want to hear about it and it will be painful for you to listen, but as my best friend you need to listen to me because I really want to tell you about it.” So, begrudgingly, because I want to be a good friend, I tried to listen. I tried so hard. It was extremely difficult. But I did. Her sincere passion for just wanting to tell me about this book lead to me to think, which is what I do whenever anyone tells me about a good book they read, I think…”I WANT TO READ THAT!” I’ll purchase it Used-Like New on Amazon and add it to the many ridiculous stacks of books that I have also yet to read.

After debating whether or not I wanted her to tell me about it, because maybe I WOULD read it, she ended up telling me about it, she knows better than I do, that I won’t ever read this. She said it was a thick book, with thin paper and small font. That doesn’t sound like something I’d be into.

So I let her proceed in telling me about this book. She went on and on about the story line and the characters and how angry she was about this part and how sad she was about that thing and how hot the main character was. Which I asked, “How do you know?” She said she knew because 1. The writing made him sound hot. And 2. The television series on Starz that they made about the books, the guy was really hot.

Chick E seems really into this.

I will say; my mind did wander while she was going on and on a little bit, but for the most part, it sounded pretty interesting. I was like 83% paying attention. And that’s a lot for me.

So, to make a long story short, this is a Chick A Book Review of a book that Chick E explained to her. I feel like this might be a good new way for me to experience literature. Just have Chick E give me a brief, under 4 minute synopsis of books using hand gestures and excited voices. I’ll be well read in no time!

I’ll be like this girl.

So, as reviews go of books heard about by Chick A, this one sounds like a winner if you’re into that kind of thing, you know, reading.

Illiterately yours,

-Chick A

 

I wonder if Joey and Pacey ARE still together???

Let Us Know What You Think...

