40 Years of Saturday Night Live…and Chick A’s 17 Fave Cast Members. Yeah, 17.

I would venture to guess that I’ve been a fan of Saturday Night Live since around the mid-80’s. It was probably around 1985 when I first saw a show…so, I was about 9. I remember my Dad watching it and probably seeing some borderline inappropriate things for a 9 year old. It was around my early teenagery years, I really got hooked and it’s been a part of my life ever since…

Everything about it thrilled me. The pomp and circumstance of the opening monologue, the celebrity appearances, the best bands and singers of the time, and of course, the hilarious scripted and not scripted comedy. I think it’s one of the biggest reasons why I love comedy as much as I do today. I learned a lot from those very talented comedians and loved how they just did whatever it took for a laugh, no shame. Just like me. I loved it. It was everything I wanted to be a part of.

Over the years, people have voiced concerns over the quality of the show, the cast, the skits, the humor etc etc etc…..and I get it…not every skit is funny. Sometimes an entire show isn’t that funny…but, I feel like, they’re REALLY trying. They are. So, I’ve always continually given them the benefit of the doubt. Because there has been SO much amazingness in comedy on that show, that they deserve a break once in a while. Some insanely talented comedians have been a part of that show over the past 40 Years and they deserve their due credit.

Since I’ve gotten older and the thought of staying up until one o’clock in the morning seems almost laughable, I am indebted to DVR for allowing “Saturday Night Live” to have been transformed beautifully into “Sunday Morning Recorded”.

Okay, so…I painstakingly tried to figure out my Top 10 List of my all time favorite SNL cast members. It was seriously so hard. I had to make some hard choices to narrow this list down to ten. But then, I got to 17 and just could not go any further, so I said, you know what, this is my blog, and if I want, I’ll make it my Top 17. I mean, it’s been 40 YEARS! I think whittling it down to 17 is good. So, here goes…and if you’re reading this, Saturday Night Live Alum who I really do love and you’re not on this list and you’re hurt, I’m SO sorry. It was a mistake, you should have been on there…..

Alright…

Chick A’s Top 17 Best Saturday Night Live Cast Members of All Time

17. Bobby Moynihan

16. Maya Rudolph

15. Jimmy Fallon

14. David Spade

13. Molly Shannon

12. Amy Poehler

11. Kenan Thompson

10. Bill Hader

9

9. Steve Martin

8. Eddie Murphy

7. Mike Myers

6. Dana Carvey

5. Adam Sandler

4. Tina Fey

3. Will Ferrell

2. Kristin Wiig

1. Chris Farley

Some older readers may be thinking that I’m leaving out some of the greats like Belushi, Chase, Aykroyd, Short, Murray….and yes, they too are very funny…but, I’m 38…and these 17, are just…..my faves. :/ Comment below if you want to tell me off.

Honorable Mention: Horatio Sanz

Best Guest Star: Justin Timberlake

As you can see there are two members of the current cast on the list, one is Kenan Thompson, who is tied for the 3rd longest running cast member of all time and is ridiculously funny and versatile as well as Bobby Moynihan who I just cry watching because every character he does is so funny. The rest of the current cast members are all so good too. I think more of them, over time, would be added to this list and possibly knock a couple out.

Current Cast

Saturday Night Live

When I was younger, I used to tell everyone that I would be a regular on SNL one day. That was my goal. I went as far as to write it as my “Future Aspirations” blurb in my Senior Year High School Yearbook. I had a dear friend of mine find our old Senior Class Yearbook to get proof of this, but it was too blurry. But, probably a good thing because it says my real name and I like just being “Chick A”. All incognito-like. 🙂 But I swear, it said it. The first line of my blurb says, Goal is to become a regular on Saturday Night Live.” You believe me, right?

Well, it hasn’t happened yet. But I won’t say that I’ve given up. Who knows? Maybe Spade or fellow New Hampshire native, Adam Sandler will stumble across www.toofunnychicks.com and hit that “Contact Us” button….or maybe even Lorne Michaels himself has assistants scouring the interwebs for new talent. I always thought I’d bill myself as the “Female Chris Farley”…just FYI.

Saturday Night Live is a living Icon of television history. An institution. I can’t imagine a life without hearing those 7 amazing words, “Live from New York, it’s Saturday Night!!

Thanks for coming into my life…and sorry I have to watch you on Sundays now…

-Chick A

2 responses to “40 Years of Saturday Night Live…and Chick A’s 17 Fave Cast Members. Yeah, 17.

  1. Thanks for reading AND commenting! 😉 I think her Sarah Palin plus her Weekend Updates plus the fact that she was one of the head writers for 7 seasons, I had to give it to her. She just cracks me up. I don’t think anyone could ever beat Chris Farley, but this fact is showing our age difference. I bet people older than me would say, “No one could ever beat Belushi…” #SNLgenerations

    Like

  2. Very timely blog! I agree with most of your list, except for Tina – she’s way too high. She’s obviously an extremely talented writer, but besides Palin and Update – she didn’t have any characters. WF is my number one, he’s one of those guys who just stands there and I start laughing.

    Liked by 1 person

Let Us Know What You Think...

