Week 1: Back On The Train. Kinda.

So, since March 29th, when I resolved to jump back on board the train to Healthy Living-ville, it hasn’t been the smoothest of rides.

The first 7 days….great. Tracking calories, getting more fitness in, cutting out the sugar and honestly, feeling so much better than I have in the last few months of living in SugarCarb City. SO much better. Like, I can see clearly now the rain is gone better. Like, I can conquer the World better.

Then, Easter hit. And with Easter came the inevitable family gathering that inevitably meant food, beer, Cadbury Mini Eggs, more food, candy, desserts, food everywhere, alcohol, Cadbury Mini Eggs, beer, pineapple bread stuffing and Cadbury Mini Eggs. Did I mention beer and Cadbury Mini Eggs? I had “planned” to take Easter as a “splurge” day. A day where I didn’t track calories, but vowed I would “make good choices…indulge, but not go insane…” Famous last words.

Easter night, arrived back home around 6 pm. Had to lay down. The sugar. The beer. The insanity. I felt like, excuse my French, total crap. I felt like I had the flu. Seriously. It was bad. So, Monday hit and I was determined to get right back in line. Steer the train back on course.

But, there were still all these Cadbury Mini Eggs in my life. I mean, was I going to NOT eat them?? What was I going to do?? SHARE them with my co-workers??

No. I hid them in a drawer in my office. It was the medium sized bag, for reference sake. I thought, I’ll have a couple, here and there. When I need a sweet. And track them. Yeah, that’s what I’ll do! A serving of Cadbury Mini Eggs is 15 eggs coming in at 210 calories. On Monday, I had a half of a serving one serving. On Tuesday I had a quarter of a serving one serving. And today, I had a half of a serving. (true) and gave the other half of the serving to a dear friend and co-worker. I sent her an email at about 830am that said, “If you love me, you will come help me finish the remaining Cadbury Mini Eggs that I have left, so that I won’t.” And like any true friend, she did. She said she had a meeting until 845am and would be there right after to help me out.

Here is a pic of the last Cadbury Mini Egg of the season:

IMG_9217

As you can see, I am very sad about this.

Besides the Mini Egg debacle, I have strayed here and there with a couple other questionable choices… (cough, cough) today’s lunch at Panera with Chick E.

  You Pick Two of French Onion Soup, Chicken Frontega Panini, side of french baguette. 

Not horrible, but not great.

But it didn’t end there.

There were these really pretty cookies…

Seriously, these cookies are a daydream wrapped in a rainbow and filled with joy.

 

So, we shared the pink one.

And, it was SO good. I mean, ridiculous.

So…we were like, “I wonder what the yellow one tastes like?”

So, we shared the yellow one.

And guess what? Remember when I told you about how I felt after Easter? The sugar flu? Well, it wasn’t THAT bad, but I didn’t feel good.

Ugh. Stupid pretty cookies and they’re deliciousness.

Ugh.

So, tonight. Healthy dinner. Spaghetti Squash with Marinara.

Tomorrow. Me. Train. On.

And that’s my Week One in a nutshell. See you next nutshell.

-Chick A

 

4 responses to “Week 1: Back On The Train. Kinda.

  1. What is it that Cadbury puts on the outside of their eggs? I mean, the chocolate itself is hard enough to resist and I don’t even like candy coating and yet . . . OMG! The mini-eggs are irresistible.

    Almost as irresistible as pretty cookies that also happen to be delicious. That’s totally unfair! Food should either be pretty if it’s also healthy for you. I say we start a petition!

    Like

    • I don’t know what it is, but I like it. I really like it. Last night, I had a dream that another medium sized bag of Cadbury Mini Eggs came into my life and although I was stressed at what to do, as I want to steer clear of too much sugar, I hid the bag between the couch cushions and ate them all. Wait, WAS this a dream??? Can’t wait to go home and check my couch cushions!!

      Yes, unhealthy food should all look ugly and gross. Agreed.

      Like

  2. Easter is deadly. For me, it was the chocolate, but I know where you’re coming from. Now stay in your seat on the train! You’ll feel better. 🙂

    Like

Let Us Know What You Think...

