Day One: I’m Self-Employed. Now What?

Day One

This is my first morning of being self-employed. October 10th. I’ve been waiting for this day for a long time. And, here it is.

I’ve really gotten deep into the world of YouTube over the last few months. For the last year, I was watching every organizational video that I could find, eventually becoming snobby to those that had less than amazing production value. But, in the last few months, I’ve discovered what I’ll just refer to as, “Lifestyle Videos”. It’s a whole, huge genre on the Tube and there are YouTube “Stars” some having a million subscribers! Where have I been?? Oh yeah, I’m 40. Anyways, it’s really incredible. People make a living, I think, making videos called, “What I Ate Today” or “How To Be A Morning Person” (which I just watched, by the way) and it’s riveting. I mean, like any worthwhile relationship in this life, you need to have standards about who you spend your time with. I’ve definitely come across some YouTubers (That’s what the kids call these people) who I could not watch (too high-pitched voice, too vapid, or the worst? Low production quality)…anyways…where was I going with all this? Oh yeah, one of the popular topics for these Tubers to talk about is, “Morning Routines”…I’ve never really had one of these, I mean, I did, but it wasn’t pleasant. And now, that I have more time in the mornings to have a lovely morning routine, I needed some guidance. From the research I’ve done and from what I thought I could maintain and would enjoy, this is how my morning has gone so far. (Oh my God, maybe I should have a YouTube Channel???) (Baby Steps, baby steps…)

622 AM: Woke Up. I think I’m going to try to wake up even earlier than I did for work. We’ll see how this goes. Now, most YouTuber Lifestyle Experts suggest NOT getting on your phone/social media first thing in the morning. I forgot this was going to be the first day of the rest of my life and I was going to have a lovely morning routine from now on, so I did do this. (All there was to see what stupid awfulness about the Presidential Debate last night, so I regretted getting on there…) Then, I got up.

(I can’t remember the times I did things, maybe in the future I will, but for now, this is what I did, in order, from 645 AM until RIGHT NOW!)

Went to the bathroom. Number one. (See what I did there?)

Drank a large glass of water. “They” (My YouTuber Friends) say that drinking a large glass of water first thing in the morning is a good way to wake up your body and rehydrate.

Made a healthy smoothie for Mr. Chick A, who, still has to go to a job every day. Once my company takes off, I’ve told him I would for sure be his Sugar Mama. He was very appreciative that I made him a smoothie and asked, “Is this going to happen every day?” To which, I blindly and with a decent amount of certainty said, “Yup.” (We’ll see…) Then I kissed him goodbye, waved to him on the porch as he drove away, as I imagine any stay-at-home-domestic-partner would do…

Next, I poured myself a cup of coffee, sat down on the couch and read one chapter in the book I haven’t looked at since my trip to Scotland this summer. It’s called, “Big Magic” by Elizabeth Gilbert, who I love, and it really was an awesome book, the first 60 pages I read, so not sure why I lost interest. Oh yeah, A.D.D. So, I vowed to read one chapter every morning. I can read more, if I choose, but I have to read one chapter. This is the deal I made in my head. With myself. So I did. And sadly, I was very relieved when I turned three pages and the chapter was over. Baby steps.

Then, I texted my sister and told her about the lovely morning routine I was having and told her that I was about to do a 10-Minute Guided Mediation from the app that I actually PAID FOR y’all, $30 for the YEAR?? Can you believe I did that?? I had the app for a long time, but you only get so much in the free version and if you know me or my life at all, you know that $30 for unlimited access to mediation was a smart choice for me. It’s called “Calm” (the app) and I really love it, check it out. Even the free version is decent, I just needed the whole shebang. So, I did a 10-Minute Guided Meditation. Did my brain wander off thinking things like, “What should my mantra be?” “I gotta go to the store today to buy those bins for my client for tomorrow’s job.” “I wonder how much longer this meditation is going to be?” No, no it didn’t. It was 100% still and mindful the entire time.

Then, as I mentioned earlier, I watched one of my fave YouTubers…with a video called, “How To Be A Morning Person.”

Then, I got another cup of coffee.

Then, I sat on the couch again, in silence. Wondering, “What should I do now?”

Then, I came to my computer and decided to write a blog.

Now, I am typing this blog.

So, there you have it. My first ever Lovely Morning Routine. Yeah, it’ll be tweaked, I’m sure. I bet some day it’ll include a shower or a workout or maybe breakfast. Mmm….breakfast. That’s what I’ll do next.

I’ll keep you updated. If you have any tips for me to include in my LMT (Lovely Morning Routine) let me know in the comments below. I will try them all at least once. Unless it’s something I don’t want to do.

Hope your day is lovely too.

Heart you,

-Chick A

3d2efe6529363b5d364592d3555398a1

One response to “Day One: I’m Self-Employed. Now What?

Let Us Know What You Think...

