Letter to The Principal in South Carolina: I’m Fat, Wear Leggins As Pants & Look Hot.

I got a text the other morning from my cousin with a link to a news article and she asked, “Can you write a blog on this?” So, what hot topic brought me out of my over 6-month long blog slumber? What else? Leggins. (Please be aware that I have always and will always refer to leggings as “leggins”…it’s just what feels right to me…)

I feel so strongly about leggins that this article made me say, “You know what? I am going to blog about that!” So here goes…

A principal at a high school in South Carolina was recorded at a start of the school year assembly telling the 10th grade student body (pun intended) the following, “I’m going to tell you this now — unless you are a size zero or a two, and you wear something like that (leggins), even though you are not fat, you look fat.”

Here’s a link to the actual audio clip: Click Here

Okay, so…where do I begin with this? Let’s see…first off, I wonder when people are going to realize that basically every single thing you say and do is being recorded, by someone, in every situation. The shock that people have when they find out that there is actually video or audio proof of them being a complete a-hole astounds me. It’s 2017 y’all, I’d actually be surprised if there wasn’t some video out there of me picking out avocados at the supermarket with the title, “Woman in leggins seen squeezing all the avocados!!” (Isn’t it maddening when all the avocados are rock hard and you want one for like, lunch today?? But that’s neither here nor there…) Back to the a-hole principal. So, she’s recorded basically body-shaming every girl in her school (and now beyond, since this story has gone viral) that is above a size 2. She clarifies that leggins should not be worn as “pants”…umm…has she heard of Lularoe, the multi-million dollar company whose flagship line of leggins (for sizes 2T-26 I might add…) is sweeping the nation?? I guess not.

There are so many things wrong with this woman’s statements that I almost don’t know where to begin.

As a female in the group classified as over the high-end of the percentile for weight charts (aka plus-size), I wear leggins ALL THE TIME. I’m wearing them right now. As I write this. And guess what? Even though I haven’t showered yet today or brushed my teeth even, from the neck down, I look HOT. My guy can barely be in the same room with me when I’m wearing leggins because of my hotness….which again, is like, all the time, so it’s really wreaking havoc on our relationship…but again, that’s not really my point…how hot I am in leggins is not the point of this post.

My point is this…

EVERYONE OF EVERY SIZE SHOULD WEAR WHATEVER THE HELL THEY WANT TO WEAR.

Even at school. There. I said it. Let the backlash begin. Unless your school has a uniform, you should be able to wear what you want to wear. In a similar vein, why do we keep telling girls that they cannot wear clothes that are considered “provocative” to make sure the boys can concentrate? How about, teach the boys to treat women and girls with respect and not objectify them? How about that? Here’s my caveat to this “wear whatever the hell you want” scenario. It would be nice for parents/guardians/adults to have respectful conversations with kids/teens about why they want to wear what they’re wearing. Do I think some girls wear crop tops and short skirts for attention? Of course. I’m not an idiot. Do they feel bad about themselves wearing it but still wear it anyway? That’s my question. If you love your body and love wearing crop tops, you go girl. But, I do believe there is room for discussion about the WHY.

Okay, back to the a-hole principal…she said that unless you are a size zero or two and you wear leggins, you look fat. I am a size 20. I know how to dress my body. And, I’ll reiterate, I look hella fine in my 13 different pairs of Lularoes and other miscellaneous leggin-wear. Would I wear my leggins with a crop top? No. But that’s MY personal preference. If some other higher-end of the weight chart female wanted to wear leggins with a crop top, I’d be all, “Get it, girl!”

WHY DOES THIS PRINCIPAL CARE IF GIRLS LOOK FAT ANYWAY??

Is she up for some “Most Thin Appearing School District” award that we’re not privy to? Is she like a lot of Moms who think their daughter’s outer appearance is a reflection of themselves? Or, is she just a Regina George loving mean girl? Maybe all three, we may never know. (I do feel like info would come out about the award theory, though…)

Listen, lady. I get it. You’re upset inside about how much you hate your own body. I’m sorry about that, I really am. But, work on YOU. Work on how you feel about yourself and maybe, as an educator and leader of impressionable minds, sign-up for a course on emotional intelligence. Something, by these comments alone, you are obviously severely lacking. Take into consideration how your words will affect others. Possibly for the rest of their lives. Think about that for a minute. To some of those girls that you shamed, they will hear those words for the rest of their lives in their heads when they go to put on some article of clothing. It’s possible that you’ve created multiple eating disorders with your insensitivity.

And I’m sorry but your back-peddling after you were so shocked to have learned that your harsh words went viral (shocker- eye roll) doesn’t cut it.

This was her statement:

“A South Carolina high school principal said she did not intend to “hurt or offend” any students with comments she reportedly made during an assembly earlier this week, WCIV reported. In a statement issued by the Berkeley County School District, Stratford High School Principal Heather Taylor said she has met with students to address a comment she made during a 10th-grade assembly on Tuesday and to assure the students she is “one of their biggest fans and invested in their success.”

You told probably 90% of the girls in that assembly (because very few people are actually a size 0 or 2) that they looked fat. So, that both “hurts” and “offends” students, no matter what your “intentions” were. I hate when people fall back onto their “intentions” when they were an a-hole. Just say, “Sorry I was an a-hole.” And, if one of my “biggest fans” said that to me, I would 100% go out and find better fans.

Listen, everyone…not just you, Principal Heather Taylor…stop pushing your narrow-minded, judgmental and hurtful opinions onto others. Especially teens who are already battling with enormous amounts of superficial and internal growth pressures. Instead, empower girls and women of all ages and sizes to wear what MAKES THEM HAPPY. What makes them feel good about themselves. What makes them feel beautiful. Whether that be a skirt above the kneecap (God forbid!), a top that shows their (dare I say it??) belly button!?!?! GASP!!! Or a 250-pound girl that wants to wear friggin leggins. Push for self-love, respect and appreciation for the body that you have, and admiration for the courageousness of all women who have to deal with the world telling them every day what they should and shouldn’t wear.

To all the ladies (and guys, I might add) at Stratford High School in Goose Creek, South Carolina…if I was a student there right now, you can bet your bottom dollar that for the entire 2017-2018 school year, I’d be cat-walking those school hallways in my finest leggins…every…damn….day.

Love yourself. Love each other. And always remember, “Haters Gonna Hate.”

-Chick A

P.S. Don’t believe me about all my leggins? Here’s proof:

This is legit what I am wearing, right now, as I write this.

Leggins with flip flops.

Leggins in the car.

80’s Workout Leggins.

Classic Black Leggins with a Penguin Slipper Twist.

Watching my Patriots Leggins.

Sippin’ coffee and catchin’ up with Rach Leggins.

Let Us Know What You Think...

