Chick A’s Bucket List: Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade

Since I was about 6 years old and to this very day, my favorite day and time of the year has been Thanksgiving Day, 9 am.

This is the time and place when I’d be over-flowing with excitement and anticipation to hear those four. amazing. words…

“Let’s Have a Parade!”

It’s the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade!!!

Seriously, y’all…I’m OB-SESSED. I love it so much. Soo Much!! This year will be the 88th parade and I bet I’ve seen 32 of them. Maybe more, ages 1-5 are kinda blurry.

I love it. Always have. Always will. I like it more than Christmas. I like it more than ice cream. I like it almost as much as bacon.

The sheer enormity of the situation, the huge floats, the millions of people there in NYC and watching from home, everyone is so happy, the musical numbers which of course I LOVE, Snoopy, the Rockettes, the lip-syncing of whichever rising pop star is hot that year on the Sesame Street float, even the people that dress up like the float they are handlers for…ALL of this, fills my heart with a ridiculous amount of joy and happiness.

I don’t even know who that boy is.

EVEN the clowns! Clowns in general are frightening, but somehow when in the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade, are made lovable and sweet.

When my darling step-kids moved into my house with me and my bf, about 4 years ago, I tried SO hard to get them all revved up about the parade, hoping that they too would feel the unbridled passion and fiery excitement that I have always felt for the annual spectacle. But, after Al Roker cut the ribbon with the huge scissors and the high school bands starting marching and then, the Broadway Shows started giving us a sample of their show, they quickly lost interest. The brilliance of simple Americana at it’s best wasn’t fascinating enough, I guess. They hadn’t grown up with it either, I think it was the first time either had seen any of it, so they didn’t have that childhood connection with it like I did.

It wouldn’t be a surprise to most that know me that I probably cry at least twice in the three-hour parade. Not because I’m sad, no. Because my heart is erupting in searing love and bursting glee and the only way for it to escape my body is through my eyes.

I have a list, on my phone, my “Bucket List”…I don’t love this term, I am trying to come up with another one. Maybe, “Lifetime To Do’s”? or “Do These Things Before I Kick The Bucket List”? Hmmm….maybe that’s how they got the term “Bucket List”…oh my goodness, pausing to realize what a dope I am to only just get that now. Oh brother. Anyways, I have this list of things that I MUST do before I die, like a lot of people have, maybe not on a notepad file on their smart phone, but whatever. One of mine that is very close to the top is, “Go to the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade”. Okay, no, this is not a silent call for help because I know that I am dying and am not telling you.

So, the parade is now 2 days away. 2 DAYS!!! I can’t wait. My bf’s parents are here visiting from Scotland. And, yes…I did wish them a Happy Thanksgiving once (many years ago) before remembering that Scotland does not celebrate the day that Pilgrims landed at Plymouth Rock. So, I hope that they can accept that from the hours of 9am-12pm on Thanksgiving Day, I will be in my pajamas, glued to the television, most likely singing along, smiling like a crazy person and crying. At least two times. (I have a feeling my bf’s Mum is gonna love it too! Here’s hoping!! I did warn her about my affliction, she seemed okay with it… 🙂 )

I was looking at the YouTube for some clips of the parade. Y’all, they have videos of the ENTIRE parade on there!! From like, every year!! I could just watch them in reruns, that’s how insane I am about it. Here’s last years entire parade in case you wanted to watch it. 

Before I end, let’s take a look through some of the reasons why this annual event is one of the best days of the year…

So cool.

The Real Snoop Dog.

Garfield is so badass.

I heart musicals.

Whenever a balloon first comes onto the screen, I go, “THERE’S KERMIT!” I don’t know why I do this. I can’t contain my excitement.

They always play the Spider-Man Theme song when Spidey comes onto the screen and say stuff like, “Able to climb tall building with his glue-like hands…IT’S SPIDER-MAN!!”

This is one of my faves. She has a cool name. Even though she spells it wrong…

I mean, come on. It’s the whole gang from Sesame Street! Whaaatttt???

Super Grover!!

Love the Boop.

Tom the Turkey gettin’ some play before the big man hits the screen.

When it’s like 11:40 am (the parade ends at noon) and the hosts, whether it’s been Bryant Gumbel, Ed McMahon, Pat Sajak, Willard Scott, Katie Couric, Meredith Viera, Al Roker, Matt Lauer or Savannah Guthrie, start hinting to the arrival of Santa Claus…holy moly…I get so excited. I’ll start telling whoever is in the house. “Hey, you guys, Santa’s about to get to the parade…””Come watch, Santa’s almost here!” They don’t even care. Maybe it’s just me and my bf and he’s in the shower and I’ll just say loudly, “Santa’s Almost Here!!” I think there’s something wrong with me…I’m like the female version of Will Ferrell in Elf.

SANTA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I can’t imagine a world without the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade. I don’t care how old I am, I’m gonna watch it. I’ll continue to delight over the high school marching bands, I’ll comment every year on how I used to be in the Color Guard in High School and how, “I could still twirl a flag…I wish I still had my old flag…”, I’ll continue to ONLY watch it live, NEVER on DVR…I think that was suggested to me once, “Just record it and watch it later.” That made me laugh. That’s like saying, “Why don’t you just open your Christmas stocking on Christmas Eve?” or “Why don’t you watch the Superbowl on Wednesday?” Come on! I will continue to run to the bathroom to pee and get more coffee during the commercials, I will continue to sing along to every musical that is on, I’ll continue to tear up and feel no shame.

Thank you, Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade for being such a joy in my life. (I’m starting to tear up now…) Thank you for the tradition, the excitement and the heart-warming slice of Americana every year.

I seriously heart you,

-Chick A

2 responses to “Chick A’s Bucket List: Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade

  1. Abbe we are soul sisters when it comes to the parade. I feel the exact same way, the excitement, the crying, lol. No one else in my house gets it and they laugh at me! I have a strict rule in my house and everyone will tell you, that the official christmas season doesnt begin until santas arrival in the parade. Then they all start singing christmas music! Great post, meant a lot to me. Happy Thanksgiving!

    Like

  2. Pingback: I can’t sleep. My favorite morning is tomorrow. Ahhh!!! | Too Funny Chicks·

Let Us Know What You Think...